Pilgrim Harp’s Time-lapse Video

Since my last blog post I have continued to experiment with my music ideas for my narrative project. After a tutorial with one of my tutors and after talking with my peers I decided to try and create a narrative using the discussions I have with my sister when she is practising on her harp. The harp holds a special significance for me, as I have been brought up around harps my whole life. My dads job is making harps! The sound of a harp is almost hard-wired and I also used to play when I was able. The video I took of my sister practising didn’t turn out the way I had hoped. However this led me to the idea of doing a time-lapse film of my dad making the harps. This was also prompted by the fact that dad’s company, Pilgrim Harps, were having a film taken of the workshop on Wednesday just gone. Furthermore I suddenly remembered that my dad had previously featured in a YouTube video of himself in his workshop assembling parts of the harp together. Having this as a time-lapse I feel is really effective it shows the sheer amount of skill and hours that go into building instruments like the harp. There also seem to be a very natural rhythm as the ‘knuckle’ on the harp is being shaped. I could also apply this to my dad painting designs on the soundboard of the harp. See the link below for further details.

http://www.pilgrimharps.co.uk/artwork.html

4 thoughts on “Pilgrim Harp’s Time-lapse Video

  1. You actually make it seem really easy along with your presentation but I in finding this topic to be actually one thing which I believe I would by no means understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very wide for me. I am having a look ahead on your subsequent publish, I will try to get the hold of it!

  2. Hello I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

